Alabama Students Recognized by ABC Board’s Anti-Underage Drinking Essay, Poster & Video Contest

The Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board is honoring the creativity and commitment of Alabama High School and Middle School students who recently participated in the agency’s “Dangers of Underage Drinking” essay, poster and video contest.

Thanks to a grant from the National Alcoholic Beverage Control Association, the ABC Board asked middle and high school students to write essays, draw posters, and produce videos that discourage young people from underage and binge drinking.

The contest is part of the ABC Board’s school-based “Under Age, Under Arrest” public education and awareness campaign that seeks to inform students about the dangers and consequences of underage drinking.

“It is vital that Alabama’s youth understand the dangers and consequences of consuming alcohol,” Curtis Stewart, Alabama ABC Board administrator, said. “We were pleased with the effort and talent put forth by the students who participated.”

Winning entries were selected for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place prizes in both the Middle and High School categories, for a total of 18 winners. First-place winners were awarded $300, second- place winners received $200, and third-place winners received $100.

Approximately 100 students located throughout Alabama submitted 65 entries. The winners will be recognized during the ABC Board’s regularly scheduled board meeting on March 30. Winning entries will appear on the ABC Board’s website and social media accounts.

The list of winners are as follows.

Middle School:

1st – McKenzie Sherman and Annsley Crimi
Pike Road Junior High School

2nd – Addison May, Brenda Castro, Heonjae Ha and Aiden Kinsey
Pike Road Junior High School

3rd (Tie) – Amelia Sellers, Caleb Howard and Steven Willis
Pike Road Junior High School

3rd (Tie) – Nayeli Ramirez
St. Ann Catholic School

High School:
1st – Steven Maynard, Colten Morrison and Will Johnston
Brewbaker Technology Magnet High School

2nd – William Knight
Barton Academy

3rd – Lexie Gant
Fyffe High School

Middle School:
No winners

High School:
1st – Mason Colmer, Bryson Miller, Brandon Caldwell, Julian Jennings, Faith Howze, Keegan Rollf  and Aeryn Busby
Calera High School

2nd (Tie)—Jared A. Smith and Christopher Norris
Oakwood Adventist Academy

2nd (Tie) – Virginia Johnson, Emma Grace McCord, Louis Jones, Hagan Lamberth, Rylan Hart, Dominick Colvin and Wesley Burke
Prattville High School

3rd (Tie) – Addison Olive, Corace Yount and Abigail Peters
Hewitt-Trussville High School

3rd (Tie) – Gannon Peeples, Connor Howard, Joshua Martin, Peyton Clark, Kaylee Gill, Abby Taunton, Gavin Rhodes and Jack Trew
Pike Road High School

Middle School

1st – Kevin Rivera
Burns Middle School

2nd – Joeliona Averett Dismuke
Success Unlimited Academy

3rd – No winner

High School
1st – Hailey Kelsheimer
The Lakeside School

2nd – Ben Strickland
The Lakeside School

3rd – Courtlyn Knight
Andalusia High School